New Delhi: Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leaders Sukhbir Singh Badal and Harsimrat Kaur Badal will contest from Ferozepur and Bathinda Lok Sabha seats respectively. Also Read - Allahabad HC Dismisses Plea Challenging PM Modi's Election From Varanasi LS Seat

The announcement was made by SAD patron Parkash Singh Badal this morning. “It has been decided that SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal will contest from the Ferozepur seat and Harsimrat will contest from the Bathinda seat,” Badal said. Also Read - Anti-Modi Tweets by Arvind Kejriwal Vanished Post Lok Sabha Elections 2019

Sukhbir Badal, who is party chief, will be facing Akali rebel and Congress nominee Sher Singh Ghubaya from Ferozepur seat. Sukhbir is currently MLA from Jalalabad seat. He had last contested Lok Sabha polls in 1999 from the Faridkot seat.

Harsimrat, who is two-time MP, will be facing Congress nominee and MLA Amrinder Singh Raja Warring from the Bathinda seat. Punjabi Ekta Party candidate and Bholath MLA Sukhpal Singh Khaira is also contesting from the Bathinda seat.

(With PTI inputs)