Top Recommended Stories

Samajwadi Party Pitches Shatrughan Sinha’s Wife Poonam Sinha From Lucknow Against BJP’s Rajnath Singh

Lucknow will go to Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on May 6. The counting of votes will be held on May 23.

Published: April 17, 2019 6:46 PM IST

By News Desk

Samajwadi Party Pitches Shatrughan Sinha's Wife Poonam Sinha From Lucknow Against BJP's Rajnath Singh
Shatrughan Sinha with wife Poonam Sinha. (File image)

New Delhi: Congress leader Shatrughan Sinha’s wife Poonam Sinha, who joined the Samajwadi Party (SP) recently, will contest the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections 2019 against Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP) candidate Rajnath Singh from Lucknow, party supremo Akhilesh Yadav said on Wednesday.

Poonam had joined the SP on April 16. Announcing the development, the SP had wrote on its official Twitter handle, “Poonam Sinha has joined the Samajwadi Party in the presence of SP leader Dimple Yadav in Lucknow.”

You may like to read

The party’s Twitter handle also carried a picture showing Poonam Sinha joining the party in the presence of SP chief Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple Yadav, an MP from Kannauj.

Poonam Sinha is likely to file nomination on April 18.

Earlier on Tuesday, Rajnath Singh had filed his nomination papers for the Lucknow Lok Sabha seat after holding a roadshow, which passed through Hazratganj, in the Uttar Pradesh capital, where BJP supporters turned up in large numbers and showered flower petals on him. He was accompanied by Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Mahendra Nath Pandey, Deputy Chief Minister Dinesh Sharma and former Union minister Kalraj Mishra.

In 2014, Rajnath Singh had won the Lucknow seat garnering 55.7 per cent of the total 10,06,483 votes polled. He had won in all the five assembly segments of the constituency.

Rita Bahuguna Joshi, then a Congress MLA and former Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee chairperson, had remained runner-up in these elections by securing 2,88,357 of the total votes.

Lucknow is going to polls on May 6 along with a total of 51 constituencies across seven states in the fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2019. The counting of votes will be held on May 23.

For breaking news and live news updates, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram. Read more on Latest India News on

By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts Cookies Policy.