New Delhi: The Samajwadi Party has released its list of candidates for upcoming Lok Sabha elections 2019. Party chief and former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav will be contesting elections from Azamgarh in Uttar Pradesh while senior leader Azam Khan will be fighting from Rampur Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Azamgarh was won by party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav. Till now the SP has announced a list of 19 candidates.

The Party had fielded Mulayam Singh Yadav from Mainpuri, and Akshay Yadav, son of party leader Ram Gopal Yadav, from Firozabad.

Besides, the party has also released its list of star campaigners with Akhilesh Yadav, Ram Gopal Yadav, Azam Khan, Dimple Yadav and Jaya Bachchan included in the list. Mulayam Singh Yadav’s name was missing from the list.

The Samajwadi Party, which is contesting in the state in alliance with the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Rashtriya Lok Dal, is contesting 37 out of the 80 seats. The Mayawati-led BSP is contesting 38 seats and the RLD will contest three seats. The SP-BSP-RLD alliance had left two seats for the Congress in Amethi and Rae Bareli.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the SP had won five seats while the BSP failed to win any. The seven-phase election is scheduled from April 12 to May 19. Counting of votes will take place on May 23.