NCP president Sharad Pawar, Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray and Union minister Smriti Irani were prominent among the political leaders who voted in Mumbai on Monday.Also Read - Devendra Fadnavis May Return As Maharashtra CM, Likely To Take Oath On July 1: Report

Polling is being held for 17 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra, including six in the country’s financial capital, on Monday. Also Read - Uddhav Thackeray's Facebook Live Address; Key Takeaways

MNS president Raj Thackeray and his wife Sharmila had to wait for more than an hour at a polling centre in Shivaji Park area to cast their votes. Also Read - Came To Power In Unexpected Manner, Going Out In Similar Fashion: Uddhav’s Last Statement as Maharashtra CM

In Powai, at SM Shetty school polling centre, a 1.5 km long queue formed as soon as the polling began.

Uddhav Thackeray, his wife Rashmi and son Aaditya cast their votes at a municipal school in Bandra East.

Pawar was accompanied by his son-in-law Sadanand Sule and grand-daughter Revati Sule at the polling centre at a school at Tardeo.

Irani, who is the BJP candidate against Congress president Rahul Gandhi in Amethi in Uttar Pradesh, also cast her vote in Mumbai.

“Participated in the biggest festival of democracy. Cast my vote in Mumbai for a strong, secular and developed India,” she tweeted.