New Delhi: Formed before the elections of 1951, the Tamluk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 42 constituencies in West Bengal. It has as many as 1271230 electorates, out of which 659937 are males and remaining 611293 are females.

Click here for all updates on Lok Sabha elections 2019

The sitting MP of the Tamluk constituency is Trinamool Congress’ Adhikari Suvendu. He won against the CPM candidate Sekh Ibrahim Ali by a margin of 2,46,000 votes.

The Tamluk constituency consists of seven Vidhan Sabha segments, out of which one is reserved for candidates of the Schedule Caste.

For the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, TMC is fielding Dibyendu Adhikari who will contest against the CPI(M)’s Ibrahim Ali, Siddharth Naskar of the BJP and Congress candidate Dr. Lashkman Chandra Seth.

Kanthi or Contai Lok Sabha constituency has a total of 1249774 electorates, out of which 603730 are females and 646045 are males, according to a report by the ECI.

Trinamool Congress’ Adhikari Sisir Kumar is the sitting MP from Kanthi or Contai, who won against the CPM’s Tapas Sinha. Sisir Kumar has been the MP from Kanthi since 2009 and is seeking his third term this Lok Sabha election.

Meanwhile, the BJP has fielded Dr. Debashish Samant, the Congress has named Dipak Kumar Das and the CPI(M) has Paritosh Pattanayak as its contender.

The Ghatal Lok Sabha constituency has long seen a three-cornered fight between the TMC, CPM and the Congress, since its inception in 1951.

TMC’s Adhikari Deepak Dev is the incumbent MP from Ghatal. He won against the CPI’s Santosh Rana by over 2,60,000 votes.

The Congress has mostly won from this seat, three out of the seven elections held here. For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has named Bharati Ghosh as its candidate against the sitting TMC MP Deepak Adhikari.

The Jhargram Lok Sabha constituency was formed in 1962. It has a total count of electorates around 1241574, out of which 632706 are males and 608868 are females. This Lok Sabha seat is reserved for candidates from the Scheduled Tribe.

Jhargram has largely been a Left bastion, with the CPM winning it 10 times consecutively from 1977 to 2009. The Trinamool Congress managed to make inroads here in 2014 when Uma Saren defeated the CPM’s sitting MP in 2009 Dr. Pulin Baske by a good margin of nearly 2,00,000 votes.

This time, the TMC has fielded Beerbaha Soren, the BJP has put forward Dr. Kunar Hembram, there’s Jagyeswar Hemb Ram of the Congress and CPI(M)’s Deblina Hembram in the fray.