New Delhi: National Conference president and vice-president Farooq Abdullah and Omar Abdullah cast their votes in the Munshi Bagh Area that falls under the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency on Thursday in the second phase of Lok Sabha elections 2019.

Speaking to media after exercising his franchise, Omar Abdullah opined how BJP’s candidate from Bhopal constituency Sadhvi Pragya Thakur, who is out on bail on the grounds of ill health is fit enough to contest Lok Sabha elections.

Click here for all updates on Lok Sabha elections 2019

He said, “BJP has given ticket (from Bhopal) to a candidate who is not only an accused in a terror case but is also out on bail on health grounds. If her health condition doesn’t permit her to be in jail, how does it permit her to contest polls.”

The BJP on Wednesday fielded Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts, against senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh from the Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency, which goes to the polls in the sixth phase on May 12. (At least seven persons were killed and 80 injured in the blast in Malegaon, a Muslim-dominated powerloom town in Nashik district on September 29, 2008.)

At the time of her arrest, the Sadhvi was charged for allegedly planning the terror blast and providing a two-wheeler that was used to plant the bomb.

The announcement was made hours after Sadhvi Pragya joined the BJP and said that she would “fight against those who are conspiring against the nation.” Sadhvi Pragya said the people who insult religion are weak by nature. She said she would bring back glory to Hindutva and act against those who have misused the law for implementing women, sanyasi and Hindu leaders.

Sadhvi Pragya is expected to polarise the Hindu votes besides splitting the Rajput votes in the Bhopal constituency which has nearly 18 lakh voters, including around 4.5 lakh Muslims.

The BJP has been holding this seat since 1989. The Congress had last won the seat in 1984 when K.N. Pradhan defeated Laxminarayan Sharma of the BJP by over 1 lakh votes.


With IANS inputs