Union Minister KJ Alphons and sitting Congress MP from Thiruvananthapuram Shashi Tharoor were among the 32 candidates who filed their nominations on Monday for the April 23 Lok Sabha elections from Kerala. Alphons, the former IAS officer-turned politician, is the BJP candidate contesting from Ernakulam constituency.

The Congress-UDF candidate from the constituency, Hibi Eden, also filed his papers.

Former union minister, Tharoor offered prayers at the Sree Padmanabhaswamy temple before filing his nomination.

Other UDF candidates who submitted their papers Monday are K Muraleedharan (Vatakara), T N Pratapan (Thrissur), Benny Behanan (Chalakudy), Kodikunnel Suresh (Mavelikkara), N K Premachandran (RSP-UDF) (Kollam), Adoor Prakash (Attingal), and Remya Haridas (Alathur).

LDF candidate Chittayam Gopakumar (CPI) (Mavelikkara) and BJP-NDA candidates Sabu Varghese (kollam), Unnikrishnan (Malappuram) and V T Rema (Ponnani) also filed their nominations.

According to officials, 84 candidates have filed their papers since March 28. The last date for filing nominations is April 4.