Lucknow: The Lok Sabha election process has begun, campaigning is on in full swing and all parties have fielded their best candidates, after considering various factors which could ensure them a win. Also Read - UP Panchayat Election 2021: Date to be Announced Soon, Check Seat Reservation and Details Here

However, many seats will not see their own contenders cast their votes from there. So, in effect, a leader comes seeking votes but when the polling day comes, he or she won’t cast his own vote there! And there are many such seats. The reason is as simple as the fact that these leaders don’t have their name on the electoral roll for that particular seat. Also Read - People Happy As Congress Rule Ended, Says PM Modi in Poll-Bound Puducherry

Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Takes Dip Into Sea With Fishermen in Kerala | Watch Video, Photos Here

Here’s a look at such leaders who won’t be able to cast their vote for themselves:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi would be contesting from Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi. However, his name is on the electoral rolls of Ahmedabad in Gujarat.

Congress leaders like UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi and party President Rahul Gandhi both cannot cast their votes in Rae Bareli and Amethi respectively. They both are voters in New Delhi.

Likewise, Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav, who is contesting from Azamgarh, the seat that his father Mulayam Singh Yadav won in 2014, cannot cast his vote there. Akhilesh is a voter from Saifai.

BJP’s Rita Bahuguna Joshi is the party candidate from Allahabad but she is a voter from Lucknow Cantt. So is Hema Malini who is the BJP candidate from Mathura but her name is not on the electoral rolls there.

Other senior leaders of note who are seeking votes from a particular constituency but are as good as outsiders when it comes to casting their own vote from there are Varun Gandhi, his mother Maneka Gandhi and Shyama Charan Gupta.

The first phase of elections is being held for 91 Lok Sabha constituencies. Voting would be held on April 11.