Varanasi: In a major show of strength, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will hold a roadshow in Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi and participate in the Ganga ‘aarti’ on Thursday, a day before filing the nomination papers for the ongoing Lok Sabha Elections 2019. (Full coverage on LS Polls)

As per the schedule, the roadshow will begin at around 3 pm after PM Modi garlands the statue of Banaras Hindu University (BHU) founder Madan Mohan Malaviya. The procession is expected to end at about 7 pm at the Dashashwamedh Ghat, where Modi will take part in the evening prayers.

Top Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders including party president Amit Shah, Nitin Gadkari, Sushma Swaraj, Piyush Goyal, among others are expected to accompany PM Modi.

In the evening, the PM will hold dialogue with 3,000 intellectuals, who have done exceptionally well in their field, in the city. Following this, he will interact with people from all section of society as part of his ‘Mission All’ program. The meeting will be held at Hotel de Paris grounds.

As per reports, security has been tightened in the city ahead of PM Modi’s visit. Adequate troops and security personnel have been strategically put up around Varanasi. Small drones have also been deployed.

Full route of PM Modi’s roadshow:

BHU (Lanka Gate) – Ravidas Gate – Assi Chauraha – Bhadaini – Shivalaya – Sonarpura – Pandey Haveli – Madanpura – Jangambadi – Godolia – Kashi Vishwanath – Dashashwamedh Ghat.

The Prime Minister will file his nomination papers from the Lok Sabha seat on Friday. Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray, Shiromani Akali Dal leader and former Punjab CM Parkash Singh Badal, Lok Janshakti Party leader Ram Vilas Paswan and Janata Dal-United’s Nitish Kumar are likely to go with him to the Collectorate. Before filing the nomination, the PM will hold a meeting with the party workers at a hotel in the cantonment area, following which he is likely to pay obeisance at the Kaal Bhairav temple.

In Lok Sabha Elections 2019, PM Narendra Modi is seeking re-election from Varanasi seat. Polling for the same will be held in the last phase of general elections, on May 19. The counting of votes will be held on May 23.

In 2014, Varanasi Lok Sabha seat was won by PM Modi by a margin of over three lakh votes against Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Arvind Kejriwal. This time there is speculation that the Congress may field its general secretary for Uttar Pradesh (East) Priyanka Gandhi Vadra against him.