New Delhi: Weeks after the furore settled over Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur‘s remarks that former Mumbai ATS chief Hemant Karkare, who was martyred in the Mumbai 2008 attacks, died due to her ‘curse’- Congress’ Digvijaya Singh has taken a swipe at her. Also Read - Minor Girl Raped, Blackmailed by Three Youths Who Befriended Her Online While Playing PUBG

Click here for all updates on Lok Sabha elections 2019 Also Read - 'Just a Family Dispute': Bhopal DG Rank Officer Defends Self After Video of Him Beating His Wife Goes Viral

At an election rally in Bhopal, the Congress candidate from Bhopal Lok Sabha constituency Digvijaya said that had Thakur ‘cursed’ Masood Azhar like she did to Karkare, there would have been no need of surgical strikes. (Masood Azhar is the chief of terrorist group Jaish-e-Mohammed) Also Read - Bhopal Shocker: Senior IPS Officer Beats His Wife After She Catches Him With Another Woman, Video Goes Viral

Sadhvi Pragya was also served a notice by the Election Commission over her unsavory remarks for a martyr. She had claimed, “Maine kaha tera (Mumbai ATS chief late Hemant Karkare) sarvanash hoga. Theek sava mahine mein sutak lagta hai. Jis din main gayi thi us din iske sutak lag gaya tha. Aur theek sava mahine mein jis din atankwadiyon ne isko maara, us din uska anth hua.” (Hemant Karkare falsely implicated me in Malegaon blasts and treated me very badly. I told him your entire clan will be erased. He died because of his karma,” Sadhvi said.)

Taking on a major political opponent, Digvijaya Singh at Ashoka Gardens further said that Hindu-Muslim-Christian are brothers. “These people say Hindus should get united as they are in danger… I want to tell them that this country was ruled by Muslims for 500 years. No harm was done to any religion. Be careful to those people who sell religion.”

He also said that the BJP is hurting ‘our’ religious sentiments by chanting ‘Har Har Modi’ instead of ‘Har Har Mahadev’.

Digvijaya Singh is up against BJP’s Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur in Bhopal- where the voting is scheduled for May 12. The counting for votes of all seven-phases will take place on May 23.

With ANI inputs