Madhya Pradesh Panchayat Elections 2022 Latest News Today: The Madhya Pradesh State Election Commission on Saturday announced the dates for three-tier Panchayat election in the state. As per the announcement, the elections will be held in three phases.Also Read - Election Commission’s Ban On Rallies Extended Till January 31 With Relaxations For Phase 1 And 2

The state election commission said the voting for the first phase will begin on January 6, 2022 and for the second and third phase, it will be held on January 28 and February 16 respectively. Also Read - Will Ban On Physical Rallies For Assembly Polls be Extended Amid COVID Cases? EC To Take Decision Today

Giving further details, state election commissioner BP Singh said the elections will be held for 859 district panchayat members, 6727 Janpad Panchayat members, 22581 Sarpanch and 362754 panch. Also Read - Uttarakhand Assembly Election 2022: Check BJP's Full List of Candidates

The EC said with the announcement of the elections, the model code of conduct has come into effect in the state.

Full schedule here: 

The election dates have been announced as the tenure of the 114 gram panchayat will end in March 2022. The election for those panchayat will be held in March.

As per the EC, the counting of votes for Sarpanch and Panch elections will be done on the day of polling, and the counting of Janpad panchayat and district panchayat will be done on different dates in different phases.

Giving details, the EC said that the ballots for Sarpanch and panch elections will be used, while EVM will be used for district Panchayat and Janpad Panchayat.

The State Election Commission said the elections will be held at 71398 polling stations and over 425000 polling personnel will be appointed. He added that a presiding officer and 4 polling personnel will be appointed at each polling station. 

“Different colored ballot papers will be used for the election. Voting will be held from 7 AM to 3 PM. It will be mandatory for the voter to bring identity card to the polling station to cast vote. Over 55000 EVMs will be used in Panchayat elections,” the EC said.

The EC further added that in the first phase, the elections will be held in 6283 gram panchayats and 313 districts and for this, over 19998 polling stations will be set up.

The EC added that in the first phase, the elections will be held in 9 districts Datia, Harda, Narsinghpur, Alirajpur, Niwari, Indore, Gwalior and Bhopal. In the second phase, elections will be held in 7 districts Burhanpur, Jabalpur, Singrauli, Umaria, Anuppur, Sheopur, Dewas. In the third phase, elections will be held in the rest of the panchayats.