Maharashtra Gram Panchayat Election Results 2021 LIVE: The counting of votes for the Maharashtra Gram Panchayat elections began at 9 AM on Monday. Over 14,000 gram panchayats in 34 of the total 36 districts in Maharashtra went to polls on January 15, amid strict COVID-19 protocols. At least 14 Thane district villages have boycotted the gram panchayat elections to press for their demand to be a part of the Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation. There are 27,920 gram panchayats in the state. The gram panchayats are considered the third tier of governance. Elections for them are not held on party lines, using party symbols. Candidates are allotted election symbols from a list of free symbols. Also Read - Mumbai Local Train Latest Updates: Is Maharashtra Govt Planning to Restrict General Public From Boarding Local Trains?

Here are the LIVE Updates:  Also Read - Majboori is Something: CM Thackeray Hints at Re-imposing Lockdown in Maharashtra; Read His Full Statement

20.00 pm: Congress bags over 4,000 gram panchayats in Maharashtra in recently concluded polls; 80% gram panchayats won by the Maha Vikas Aaghadi: Congress leader and Maharashtra Minister Balasaheb Thorat Also Read - Coronavirus Travel Guidelines: This State Mandates Week-Long Home Isolation For People Coming From Maharashtra, Kerala, MP, Punjab and Chhattisgarh | Key Points

16:33 PM: BJP steers clear with 451 seats, Shiv Sena leads in 425.

15:15 PM: Maharashtra Home Minister Anil Deshmukh welcomed the poll results. “Many seats have been won by the Maha Vikas Aghadi. This is a clear-cut message as the BJP hasn’t won many seats. Even the Vidhan Parishad results had shown a similar trend,” he said.

14:26 PM: In Maharashtra’s Dhule district, BJP-backed candidates are leading.

13:00 PM: Congress and its allies win all nine gram panchayats in Chandrapur’s Morva village.

12:45 PM: BJP is leading in Jamner.

12:40 PM: In Parali, the NCP is leading in six of seven gram panchayats. NCP Minister Dhananjay Munde is an MLA from Parali.

12: 30 PM: In Nasik’s Sayyed Pimpri gram Panchayat, Congress has bagged 6 six seats

11:20 AM: Maha Vikas Aghadi defeats BJP in Kalyan’s Khoni gram panchayat.

11:00 AM:As per reports, Sena ahead in 331, while the BJP is leading in 266.  NCP 221 gram panchayats, Congress 147.

10:53 AM: Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) ahead of the BJP in Narsinghwadi in Kolhapur district. As per a report of Maharashtra Times, candidates backed by the alliance have won 7 out of 11 seats.

10:17 AM: Popatrao Baguji Pawar leads by 7-0 in Hiware Bazar Nagar Tehsil. Pawar is the farmer sarpanch of Hiware Bazar, a gram panchayat in Maharashtra’s Ahmednagar district.

09:46 AM: At least 14 Thane district villages have boycotted the gram panchayat elections to press for their demand to be a part of the Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation.

09:44 AM: The elections to the Maharashtra gram panchayats had recorded 79 percent voter turnout.

09: 42 AM: The gram panchayat elections are considered a litmus test for the BJP. It will be followed by a series of municipal corporation polls later this year, followed by the all-important BMC polls in early 2022.

09:40 AM: There are 20,000-odd seats where members have already been elected unopposed.