Maharashtra MLC election results: In a setback for the BJP in Maharashtra Legislative Council poll counting, it could win only one out of six seats. The ruling coalition Maha Vikas Agadi (MVA) bagged four seats, while an independent carried one seat. Also Read - From West to East: Maharashtra’s Ruling Shiv Sena to Contest West Bengal Polls This Year

NCP’s Satish Chavan won the Aurangabad division graduates’ constituency, defeating BJP nominee Shirish Boralkar. In Pune division graduates’ constituency, NCP’s Arun Lad defeated BJP candidate Sangram Deshmukh by a margin of 48,824 votes. Chavan polled 1,16,638 votes, while Boralkar bagged 58,743 votes, the state electoral office said. Lad polled 1,22,145 votes, while Deshmukh bagged 73,321 votes. Also Read - Mahesh Manjrekar Booked For Allegedly Slapping, Verbally Abusing Man Who Hit His Car

BJP’s defeat in Pune graduates’ constituency is considered to be a big blow to party’s state unit chief Chandrakant Patil, who along with former chief minister Devendra Fadnavis had campaigned extensively to retain the seat. Also Read - Tripura Congress Chief's Car Attacked Allegedly by BJP Workers, Party Calls For Strike

In another big jolt for the BJP, Congress’s Abhijeet Wanjari won the Nagpur Graduate constituency. The Nagpur seat was considered the BJP stronghold as it was represented by Union Minister Nitin Gadkari in the past.

The BJP registered victory in the Dhule-Nandurbar local body seat.

Meanwhile, Congress’s Jayant Dinkar Aasgavkar has maintained a comfortable lead from Pune Division Teachers’ constituency.

Taking to news agency ANI, Fadnavis said, “The results of Maharashtra Legislative Council polls are not as per our expectations. We were expecting more seats but won only one. We miscalculated the combined power of the three parties (Maha Vikas Aghadi).”

The biennial elections to six legislative council seats – three graduates’ and two teachers’ as well as one local bodies seat were held on December 1.

Talking to reporters in Mumbai, NCP chief Sharad Pawar said the result was a reflection of the MVA government’s performance in the last one year.

(With agency inputs)