Shillong, Jan 30 (PTI) Two more MLAs have resigned from the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly today, official sources said. Also Read - Australia to reopen Christmas Island detention centre: PM Morrison

Independent MLA Rophul S Marak and Congress MLA Bluebell Sangma were the latest to put in their papers, taking the total number of resignations to 20, ahead of the February 27 elections in the state. Also Read - .Alwar NRG2 RJ-POLL-RAMGARH Ramgarh constituency to witness triangular contest

Rophul S Marak is the MLA from Rongara Siju constituency in South Garo Hills district. Also Read - Bypoll in Ramgarh constituency on Jan 28

I have received the resignation letter of Rophul S Marak today, Assembly Commissioner and Secretary Andrew Simons told PTI.

He said the same have been forwarded to the Speaker for information and necessary action adding that a notification in this regard will be issued once the Speaker approves.

Bluebell Sangma, the MLA from Chokpot constituency, was denied a Congress ticket. She said she would contest the elections but did not elaborate further.

Yesterday, Mawryngkneng MLA David A Nongrum resigned and last week NCP MLA Marthon Sangma and Independent MLA Brigaddy Marak resigned from their elected posts.

On January 2, Congress MLA A L Hek and NCP MLA and former deputy speaker Sanbor Shullai resigned along with two Independents — Justine Dkhar and Robinus Syngkon. All four joined the BJP on the same day.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.