Kolkata, Nov 28 (PTI) West Bengal Environment Minister Suvendu Adhikari on Wednesday said the government will put in place pollution monitoring stations at 78 places across the state.

Adhikari said in the assembly that the state will be divided into four zones in terms of pollution monitoring — Haldia, Siliguri, Asansol and Kolkata.

“We are taking stern action to control pollution in the city… There will be pollution monitoring stations at 78 places. In 105 places, there will be a system to monitor pollution in rivers,” he said.

The minister admitted that the amount of pollution in Kolkata and New Delhi on Diwali were at par.

Adhikari, who is also the state transport minister, said a new rule would be introduced in districts, too, to stop 15-year-old buses from plying on roads.

In Kolkata, 15-year-old commercial vehicles are banned but the rule was not applicable for buses and trucks registered in districts.

The state government will procure 80 electric buses over a period of time, Adhikari said, adding, within January 2019, 40 electric buses would start operations.

Electric vehicle charging stations will be installed in 25 bus depots in and around the metropolis, he said.

Adhikary also placed a bill to repeal the Bengal Smoke Nuisances Act 1905, stating it was no more relevant.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.