Shimla, Mar 21 (PTI) Seven candidates, including Promila Devi from Congress and Dr Anil Dhiman from BJP, filed their nomination papers today for the byelection to the Bhoranj Assembly seat slated in April 9.

BJP rebel Pawan Chandel, Congress rebel Romesh Dogra and Kusum have filed their nominations as Independent candidates.

Bachhittar Singh and Reena Devi are covering candidates of the Congress and the BJP respectively.

The bypoll was necessitated following the death of BJP MLA Ishwar Dass Dhiman, who had won from this seat six times in a row. The BJP has fielded his son Anil from the seat.

Meanwhile, Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh said there was no rift in his party over the selection of candidate and the Congress would win this seat, ending “27 years of drought”.

He asked party members and supporters to work hard to ensure Congress’s victory and accused the BJP of ignoring people.

Former chief minister and senior BJP leader Prem Kumar Dhumal said the Congress changed its candidate for the seat within 24 hours and victory of BJP is a foregone conclusion.

The Bhoranj Assembly constituency falls in the Dhumal’s home district, Hamirpur.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.