Shimla, Mar 23 (PTI) The Congress and BJP have launched a massive campaign for Bhoranj (reserve) Assembly bye-election slated for April 9 and top leaders of both the parties have been assigned poll duties.

The Himachal Pradesh Congress committee (HPCC) president has divided the constituency into ten sectors and a cabinet minister has been made incharge of each sector with teams of senior leaders.

All the ministers, except the chief minister and Industries minister Mukesh Agnihotri are incharge of sectors and almost all the MLAs, CPS and other senior leaders including chairpersons of Boards and Corporations have been assigned poll duties.

The BJP had already constituted a committee and party General secretary Randhir Sharma (MLA), has been made Incharge of the election and former ministers, MLAs and top office bearers have joined the campaign and swarm into villages.

Tomorrow is last date of withdrawal and campaigning would close on April 7 while polling would be held on April 9.

The budget session of Himachal assembly is on and the session would also end on April 7 while counting of votes would take place on April 13.

There are 75,719 voters in Bhoranj Assembly segment including 37,514 male and 38,205 female voters.

The seat was vacated following the demise of senior BJP leader, Ishwar Dass Dhiman in November 2016.

Dhiman had won this seat six-time in row since he was elected to the Vidhan Sabha for the first time in 1990.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.