New Delhi, Sep 29 (PTI) Shikhar Dhawan was on Saturday dropped for the two-match Test series against West Indies after his poor run in England while Mayank Agarwal and Mohammed Siraj’s achievements in the domestic circuit were rewarded with maiden India call-up. Also Read - On This Day: West Indies Secure Second World T20 Win After Carlos Brathwaite's 6, 6, 6, 6

The selectors decided to rest the pace duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah, taking into account their “recent workload”. Also Read - Coronavirus in India: Another COVID-19 Patient Dies in Maharashtra, Death Toll in State Rises to 21 | Highlights

The pace bowling department wears a new look with Mohammad Shami being the only experienced player in the Virat Kohli-led 15-member squad. Also Read - 'He's The Best In The World,' Dwayne Bravo's High Praise For Andre Russell

Mumbai’s Prithvi Shaw has retained his place in the side after failing to make the playing XI in the last two Tests in England. Considering that Dhawan has been shown the door, young Shaw could finally get his chance to open the batting with K L Rahul, who had saved his place with a fine knock in the final Test against England.

“Taking stock of the recent workload, the selectors have decided to rest Jasprit Bumrah and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Both Ishant Sharma and Hardik Pandya were not considered for selection, as they are yet to recover from their injuries,” BCCI acting secretary Amitabh Choudhary said in a statement.

The first Test will be played at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot from October 4 to 9, followed by the second match at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad from October 12 to 16.

India squad: Virat Kohli (captain), K L Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.