Bhopal, Feb 21 (PTI) Following the directives of the Election Commission of India (ECI), the state government today transferred the collector of Ashok Nagar district. Also Read - Woman's body found stuffed inside suitcase

Mungaoli in Ashok Nagar district, along with Kolaras in Shivpuri district, is slated for bypolls on February 24. Also Read - Assembly polls, Dalit unrest kept Madhya Pradesh in news

The state government, in an order issued today, said that V S Choudary Kolasani, an IAS officer of 2011 batch, would be the new district collector of Ashok Nagar in place of BS Jamod, a 2006 batch IAS officer. Jamod has been transferred as an Officer on Special Duty in the state secretariat at Bhopal, officials said. Also Read - Madhya Pradesh Election 2018 Results: Shivpuri, Pichhore, Kolaras, Bamori, Guna, Ashok Nagar, Chanderi, Mungaoli Vote Counting Live Updates

Kolasani was serving as the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the district panchayat at Anuppur.

An ECI official said that directives to the state government to transfer the collector were made following a complaint by the Congress about mistakes in the electoral rolls.

The state government had submitted a panel of three officers to the ECI following which the orders of transferring Jamod and posting Kolasani in the former’s place were issued today evening, the officer said.

These bypolls were necessitated due to death of sitting Congress MLAs Mahendra Singh Kalukheda (Mungaoli) and Ram Singh Yadav (Kolaras).

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.