New Delhi, Jun 19 (PTI) The government today said it has constituted a chief ministers’ sub-group to coordinate policy approaches for agriculture and MGNREGS with the Madhya Pradesh CM Shiv Raj Singh Chauhan as the convener. Also Read - West Bengal: 13 Dead in Road Accident Due to Fog in Jalpaiguri District

Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Gujarat, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Sikkim along with NITI Aayog member Ramesh Chand are the members of the subgroup, an official statement said. Also Read - 7th Pay Commission Latest News: Dearness Allowance, Salary Hiked For These State Govt Employees

The move comes against the backdrop of the vision of Prime Minister Narendra Modi towards doubling farmers’ income by 2022 which requires a multi-dimensional and inclusive approach, it added. Also Read - Will Never Bow My Head Before BJP, Says Mamata Banerjee, Calls Saffron Party More Dangerous Than Maoists

At the fourth meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog on Sunday, approaches with special emphasis on pre-sowing and post-harvest interventions using MGNREGS were sought for creating durable assets that double incomes of farmers and reduce agrarian distress.

According to the statement, the terms of reference of the sub-group include suggesting a wider choice of state specific interventions both for pre-sowing and post-harvest to further improve the thrust on incomes, water conservation and waste to wealth.

Other term of reference include, to make recommendations on interventions of MGNREGS that can facilitate reduction of agrarian distress including work availability, wage rates and seasonality as also to explore the possibilities of MGNREGS as a livelihood resource for development and diversification of income of small and marginal farmers specially belonging to SC/ST households.

The statement further said sub-group will submit its report within three months from its date of constitution.

The first meeting of the sub-group is expected to be held within the next month, as per the convenience of the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh, it added.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.