New Delhi, Aug 12 (PTI) Global internet body ICANN is working on a proposal to enable booking of website names in Indian scripts starting with Devanagari, Gurmukhi and Gujarati.Also Read - Rohit Sharma or Virat Kohli? Ravi Shastri's Response to Fan is EPIC | SEE POST

A Neo-Brahmi Generation Panel (NBGP), set up under ICANN, has started consultation to enable registeration of website name extension, technically called top level domain (TLD), like .com, .net, .in, in the three Indian scripts. Also Read - THIS State Increases Upper Age Limit For Police, Fire Service Recruitments

“The Neo-Brahmi script Generation Panel (NBGP) was formed by nine communities that use scripts derived from the Brahmi script. NBGP is developing Root Zone Label Generation Rules (LGR) for Bengali, Devanagari, Gujarati, Gurmukhi, Kannada, Malayalam, Oriya, Tamil and Telugu scripts,” The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers website said. Also Read - IPL 2022: Matthew Hayden Not in Favour of MS Dhoni Leading CSK in IPL 2023

At present website name with extension .bharat can be booked only in Devanagari script which has limited letters that are identified by internet servers.

The technical standards once freezed through the process, called Label Generation Rules for the Root Zone (RZ-LGR), will allow people to use any word of their choice as TLD in the Indian scripts.

“After integration in root zone of these LGR’s people from all over world will be able to apply for top level domains in these scripts. This means that internet domains will be possible for public at large in names of there choice and make internet access in there own language,” NGBP Chairperson co-chair and Data XGen Plus founder and CEO, Ajay Data told PTI.

The root zone are the main servers that convert name of website in digital form and identify address of server where the website is hosted to connect visitors of online portals. These servers are managed by the not-for-profit organisation ICANN.

While there are nine scripts in works at ICANN, NBGP intends to publish the proposals for the developing technical standards for all nine in three sets starting with Devanagari, Gurmukhi, and Gujarati.

The last date for public comments for freezing technical details is September 10, 2018.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.