Shimla, Oct 14 (PTI) The International Film Festival of Shimla 2018 concluded here Sunday, with “The Fog” by Ali Shoorvarzi and Hoseyn Mahroughi bagging the ‘best short film’ award, an official press release said.

The festival organised by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting in collaboration with Himalayan velocity saw the participation of 23 countries including the US, Russia, Japan, Iran, Dubai, Argentina, Cyprus, Bangladesh, Canada, Israel, France, Australia, Belarus, Nepal among others.

A total of 80 international and national films were screened at the festival.

Under the international category, “Its Also Love” by Masao Konno (Japan) was adjudged ‘special jury short film’. “Burkinabe Rising: The Art of Resistance in Burkina Faso” by Lara Lee (Burkina Faso) won ‘best documentary’ and “New Life” by Veysi Altay (Turkey) won ‘special jury documentary’ award, it said.

In the national category, “Anahut” by Umesh Bagade was declared ‘best short fiction’, “Plucked” by Tejus Yakhob ‘special jury short fiction’ and “Sinjar” by Sandeep Pampally won ‘best feature film’, the release said. Besides, “Nawal-The Jewel” by Ranjilal Damodaran won ‘special jury feature film’. “Ima Sabitri” by Bobo Khuraijam was given ‘best documentary’ award. “Nanchi Se Banchi” by Bijju Toppo and “Thunder lightning & Rain” by Rajesh James won the ‘special jury documentaries’ awards, it said.

In Himachal Pradesh state category, “In the Twilight Zone” by Mela Ram Sharma won ‘best documentary’ and “Karim Mohammed” by Pawan Sharma won the ‘special jury award’, the release added.

The chief guest of the closing ceremony, S N Joshi, famous writer and member of Sahitya Academy, awarded cash prizes to the winners.

For the first time in the history of Indian film festivals, a special screening of the film festival was done at the Central Jail, Kanda.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.