Chennai, Oct 1 (PTI) TVS Racing s Jagan Kumar notched his sixth straight title in the premier Super Sport Indian (165cc) class on a rain-affected day to bring down the curtains on the MRF MMSC FMSCI Indian National Motorcycle Racing Championship 2017 at the MMRT track, near here today. Also Read - Honda Likely to Launch City 2020 in India in March, Thai Version Launched in November

The day s original programme of seven races looked to be in jeopardy following a massive downpour in the early hours of today. However, the Madras Motor Sports Club officials came up with a herculean effort to get the club circuit (short loop, 2.1 Kms) ready for racing with the full circuit (3.7 Kms) not available due to water-logging. Thus, three of the seven races were cancelled since the championships in those categories were already decided. Also Read - Honda Launches BS6-Complaint City Petrol in India

The changes had little impact on Jagan Kumar. Going into today s race, Jagan enjoyed a six-point lead over Honda Ten10 Racing s Rajiv Sethu, but the expected challenge did not materialize as the latter crashed at Turn-2 in the very first lap. Thereafter, Jagan was on a cruise mode and seemed content to finish second behind Sethu s team-mate Mathana Kumar who eased past in the last lap. Harry Sylvester (TVS Racing) came in third. Also Read - Suzuki's Alex Rins Snatches Victory From Marc Marquez in British MotoGP

It was a splendid comeback by Jagan who, at one point in the season, trailed Sethu by 33 points but three back-to-back wins, including one yesterday, put the TVS Racing rider s campaign back on track as he clinched the title in this class, previously known as Group B , for the sixth year in a row by a comfortable 24-point margin.

Aravind Balakrishnan (Honda Ten10 Racing) took the title in the Pro-Stock class though he finished a distant eighth in the race won by his team-mate Anish Shetty. Balakrishnan thus finished with 138 points, 13 ahead of Aravind Ganesh (Moto-Rev).

Rajiv Sethu emerged champion in the Honda One-Make-Race CBR250R Expert category while Satyanarayana Raju won in the Honda CBR 150 category.

The National champions: Jagan Kumar (TVS Racing, Super Sport Indian 165cc), Aravind Balakrishnan (Honda Ten10 Racing, Pro-Stock), Amarnath Menon (Gusto Racing, Super Sport Indian 300-400cc), Sai Rahil Pillarishetty (Sparks Racing, Novice 165cc), Aishwarya Pissay (Apex Racing, Girls 165cc).

Team championship: Gusto Racing (Super Sport Indian 300-400cc); TVS Racing (Super Sport Indian 165cc); Honda Ten10 Racing (Pro-Stock); Sparks Racing (Novice, 165cc); Apex Racing (Girls, 165cc).

MMSC One-Make Championship winners: Rajiv Sethu (Honda CBR 250), Satyanarayana Raju (Sparks Racing, Honda CBR 150), S Sivanesan (TVS Apache RTR 200 Open), Anup Kumar (TVS Novice) and Nitish Kumar (Yamaha R15 Novice).

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.