Chennai, Aug 4 (PTI): Defending champion Jagan Kumar of TVS Racing secured pole position in the Super Sport Indian (up to 165cc) class in the third round of the MRF MMSC FMSCI National Motorcycle Racing Championship at Sriperumbudur near here today. Also Read - Honda Likely to Launch City 2020 in India in March, Thai Version Launched in November

Kumar, currently fifth on the leaderboard, clocked one minute, 59.356 seconds, just ahead of championship leader Rajiv Sethu of Honda Ten10 Racing (01:59.912) while Harry Sylvester, also from TVS Racing, was the third fastest (02:00.242) before retiring with a mechanical problem. Also Read - Honda Launches BS6-Complaint City Petrol in India

In the Girls (Stock, up to 165cc) class, Bengaluru’s Aishwarya Pissay of Apex Racing, who is looking to consolidate her position at the top, grabbed pole position, clocking 02:13.561, ahead of Alisha Abdullah (Team Alisha Abdullah) whose best was a 02:16.025 with Shruthi Nagarajan (Rocker Racing) in third spot at 02:16.516. Also Read - Suzuki's Alex Rins Snatches Victory From Marc Marquez in British MotoGP

Honda Ten10 Racing team riders dominated the qualifying session in the Pro-Stock (up to 165cc) category as Aravind Balakrishnan (02:04.556) and championship leader Mithun Kumar (02:04.955) occupied the top two spots on the grid ahead of S Sivanesan (Team Alisha Abdullah).

Dinesh Kumar (Team Alisha Abdullah) was the quickest in the Super Sport Indian 300-400cc category pipping leader Amarnath Menon to pole position while Deepak Ravikumar (Moto-Rev) was third.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.