Pune, Jan 13 (PTI)Aditee Dandekar and Arik Dey turned in meticulous performances as Maharashtra once again dominated the gymnastics arena at Khelo India Youth Games to wrap up the Under-21 category with a whopping nine medals on the last day of competition here on Sunday. Also Read - West Bengal: 13 Dead in Road Accident Due to Fog in Jalpaiguri District

With 18 medals (nine gold, six silver and three bronze), Maharashtra were also crowned champions, a media release issued here said. Also Read - 7th Pay Commission Latest News: Dearness Allowance, Salary Hiked For These State Govt Employees

The star of Maharashtra’s success story on the day was Aditee. Also Read - Will Never Bow My Head Before BJP, Says Mamata Banerjee, Calls Saffron Party More Dangerous Than Maoists

She won four medals in all including two gold in the ball and ribbon routines which took her individual haul to five medals, adding to the Rhythmic Gymnastics all around title on Friday.

Meghana Reddy gave her some competition by bagging the hoop gold and silver in both the ribbon and ball categories.

Arik Dey continued his magical performance to fetch Maharashtra two more medals.

He secured gold in the horizontal bar and silver in parallel bars.

Agnivesh Pandey of Uttar Pradesh topped the parallel bar making him the most successful performer for his state and propel them to third place in the overall standings behind West Bengal (11 medals).

Results: Rhythmic Gymnastics: Individual Hoop: 1.

Meghana Reddy (Tel) 11.05; 2. Aditee Dandekar (Mah) 10.45; 3.

Mehakpreet Kaur (DL) 10.35.

Individual Ball: 1. Aditee Dandekar (Mah) 12.65; 2.

Meghana Reddy (Tel) 12.35; 3. Kimaya Kadam (Mah) 11.35.

Individual Clubs: 1. Richa Chordia (Mah) 11.65; 2.

Aditee Dandekar (Mah) 10.75; 3. Mehakpreet Kaur (DL)10.00.

Individual Ribbon: 1. Aditee Dandekar (Mah) 12.15; 2.

Meghana Reddy (Tel) 10.50; 3. Mehakpreet Kaur (DL) 9.55.

Mens Artistic Gymnastics: Individual Parallel Bars: 1. Agnivesh Pandey (UP) 12.45; 2. Arik Dey (Mah) 12.30; 3.

Aryan Sharma (PB) 11.25.

Individual Horizontal Bar: 1. Arik Dey (Mah) 12.

25; 2. Omkar Shinde (Mah) 11.40; 3. Isa Anwar (DL) 11.


This is published unedited from the PTI feed.