Kolkata, Dec 29 (PTI) The West Bengal Left Front today announced the names of candidates for the upcoming by-polls for Uluberia Lok Sabha constituency and Noapara assembly seat. Also Read - Mamata to Contest From Nandigram, Releases List of 291 Candidates; 50 Women, 42 Muslims in TMC List

The Front nominated Sabiruddin Mollah of CPI-M for Uluberia. Mollah had unsuccessfully contested from the Uluberia Lok Sabha seat in 2014. Also Read - Tamil Nadu Assembly Election 2021: AIADMK, DMK Continue Seat-sharing Talks, Fate of Sasikala to be Decided

TMC MP from Uluberia Sultan Ahmed’s death earlier this year has necessitated the election. Also Read - Delhi MCD Election Results 2021 Updates: AAP Wins 4 Seats, Congress 1; Kejriwal, Sisodia Laud Victory

In Noapara assembly constituency, Left Front nominated Gargi Chatterjee.

The seat fell vacant following the death of Congress MLA Madhusudan Ghose a few months ago.

The by-polls would be held on January 29 and counting of votes will take place on February 1.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.