Mumbai, Jan 29 (PTI) Maharashtra today made a winning start as they blanked Andhra Pradesh 3-0 in their opening Group-B league match of the AIFF Junior National Football Championship 2017-2018 (Tier-II) for the BC Roy Trophy, being played in Una, Himachal Pradesh. Also Read - Heading To Lahaul-Spiti Valley Soon? You Might Have to Pay Green Tax

After a barren first half, Maharashtra came into their own, and showed complete dominance scoring three times during this period to come out worthy winners, a media release issued here said. Also Read - Himachal Pradesh: Over 150 Monks Test COVID Positive at Gyuto Monastery, 1 Critical, Others Quarantined

Substitute Aryan Banerjee, who replaced skipper Bhuvan Jerpoth, scored the first goal in the 53rd minute before Johnson Mathews scored the second 10 minutes later to double Maharashtra s lead. Five minutes later, Sandesh Kasar, who came in as a substitute for Shantanu Ningurkar, struck the third goal to complete the victory. Also Read - Himachal Tourism: Spiti Valley is Finally Opening, Check Out COVID Guidelines to Follow

Results Group-B: Maharashtra 3 (Aryan Banerjee, Johnson Mathews, Sandesh Kasar) beat Andhra Pradesh 0.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.