Kolkata, Nov 15 (PTI) In a minor reshuffle in the IPS cadre, the West Bengal government Thursday appointed Sunil Kumar Choudhury as the new Police Commissioner of Barrackpore Police Commissionerate.

As per a notification issued by the state government on Thursday, Choudhury, who was the DIG of the Presidency Range, replaced Dr Rajesh Kumar Singh, who was named as the new IGP of the same Range.

Kunal Aggarwal, Birbhum SP was made the Superintendent of Police (SS), CID Headquarters at Durgapur, it said.

Shyam Singh, CO of Special Armed Police (SAP) 10th Battalion, was made the new SP of Birbhum district.

Prasun Bandhyopadhyay, SP of Dakshin Dinajpur was transferred as SS, CID (special crime), Malda while Nagendra Nath Tripathi replaced him, it said.

Tripathi was DC Traffic of Siliguri Police Commissionerate.

David Ivan Lepcha, SS, CID (special crime), Malda was named as the SS, CID WB Headquarters at Siliguri, the notification stated.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.