Mumbai, Feb 21 (PTI) Besides prominent personalities from the film and corporate worlds, a sizeable number of legislators and MPs also cast their votes during the Mumbai civic election today.

Over a dozen MPs, 36 MLAs and 12 MLCs from Mumbai and Mumbai Suburban joined other voters in exercising their right to franchise.

Interestingly, Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu, who has been elected to Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh, cast his vote in Mumbai.

On the other hand, Congress MPs P Chidambaram and Rajiv Shukla, elected to the Upper House of Parliament from Maharashtra, are not registered voters either in Mumbai or anywhere in the State.

BJP MP Hema Malini, who represents Mathura (Uttar Pradesh) in Lok Sabha, is a registered voter of Mumbai and exercised her right today.

Union Power Minister Piyush Goel, elected to Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh, also cast his vote in the BMC election.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.