Kolkata, Mar 13 (PTI) The nomination papers of all the six candiates including that of Congress nominee Abhisek Manu Singhvi for the Rajya election from West Bengal were found valid after the scrutiny, Jayanta Koley, secretary, West Bengal state assembly said.

All the six candidates were present during the scrutiny of their nomination papers.

Koley, also the returnning officer for the RS poll, said, “All the nomination papers are in order and have been accepted”.

Singhvi, to whom the ruling Trinamool Congress has extended support, filed his nomination for the Rajya Sabha election yesterday.

His name was proposed by 40 MLAs — 20 each from the Congress and the TMC.

Singhvi has filed his papers for the fifth RS seat from the state.

Rabin Deb was the Left Front candiate for the fifth seat.

A candidate requires 49 votes to win the RS poll from the state.

TMC which has surplus votes, has announced that it would support the Congress which has 42 MLAs in the house.

The Left had 32 MLAs but two of them had deserted the party and joined TMC.

Along with Singhvi, four TMC candidates and Deb had filed their nominations yesterday for the RS election.

The four Trinamool candidates are — Nadimul Haque, who was renominated, Subhasish Chakraborty, Abir Biswas and Santunu Sen.

The election to the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state will be held on March 23.

Election to the five seats have been necessitated as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the TMC and Tapan Sen of CPI(M) will end on April 2.

Mukul Roy, who joined the BJP from TMC last year, had already resigned from the Rajya Sabha.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.