Malda (West Bengal), Jan 29 (PTI) Congress MP Mausam Benazir Noor who joined the Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Monday, said only West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is able to fight the Bharatiya Janata Party in the state. Also Read - Over 15 Lakh Vaccinated, 11 Hospitalised Across India So Far, 6 Deaths Unrelated: Govt

The second-term Congress MP also asked his maternal uncle Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury and his son Isha Khan Chowdhury, MP and MLA of the Congress respectively, to switch over to the ruling party like her. Also Read - FAU-G Mobile Game to be Launched on Republic Day | Here’s How to Download The Game

However, these two Congress leaders later said they would not leave the party. Also Read - BJP, TMC Lock Horns Over Jai Shri Ram Chants as Mamata Refuses to Address Netaji Event in Kolkata | Key Points

Addressing a press conference here on Tuesday, Noor compared Mamata Banerjee, also Trinamool Congress to the late Congress stalwart and former Union minister ABA Ghani Khan Chowdhury, another maternal uncle of hers.

“Barkat saheb (Ghani Khan Chowdhury) had worked for the development of Malda. He believed in secularism. Didi (Mamata Banerjee) too has these qualities,” the MP from Malda North constituency said.

Noor said, “If we want development of Malda, we have to strengthen Didi’s hand. Only she is able to protect the state from the BJP. These are the reasons I changed the party.”

Soon after her joining, Banerjee on Monday announced that Noor will be Trinamool’s general secretary and would be taking care of the party in Uttar Dinajpur, Dakshin Dinajpur and Malda.

Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury, MP of Malda South, and his son Isha, MLA of Sujapur, said there is no question of leaving the Congress party.

Abu Hasem Khan Chowdhury’s brother, Abu Naser Khan Chowdhury had joined the Trinamool Congress in 2016.

The bordering district of Malda has been a Congress bastion for several decades. Even after the Trinamool Congress formed government in the state, the Congress maintained its hold on the district.

This is the first time that a Congress MP defected to the Trinamool since 2011. After 2016 assembly polls, 14 Congress MLAs have switched over to the TMC.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.