New Delhi [India], Feb. 27 (ANI): The fifth MAK Pataudi Memorial Lecture 2016-17 and the BCCI Annual Awards 2016-17 will take place at Ritz Carlton, Bengaluru on March 8.

Former India wicket-keeper Farokh Engineer will deliver the lecture.

Known for his sharp reflexes, agility behind the stumps and his aggressive batting, Engineer represented India in 46 Test matches and five ODIs.

The lecture will be followed by BCCI Annual Awards 2016-17.

The Col. C.K. Nayudu Awards Committee has nominated Rajinder Goel and Padmakar Shivalkar for the Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award for 2016.

The committee consisting of N. Ram, Ramachandra Guha and Diana Edulji believed that BCCI needs to recognise the services rendered by Goel and Shivalkar who were not fortunate enough to play for India.

The two left-arm spinners traumatized the batsmen picking wickets in a heap.

Goel, ended his career with a staggering 750 first-class wickets, including 637 scalps in the Ranji Trophy, the most by any bowler in tournament’s history.

Shivalkar played 124 first-class games and claimed 589 wickets. He picked up 42 five-wicket hauls and on 13 occasions registered a 10-wicket haul.

BCCI Lifetime Achievement for Women

To recongnize the contribution of women cricketers, the BCCI for the first time, has introduced the Lifetime Achievement Award for Women.

Former captain, Shanta Rangaswamy has been nominated for the award. She led India in 12 Test matches and in 16 ODIs.

BCCI Special Award

Vaman Viswanath Kumar and late Ramakant Desai have been nominated for the BCCI Special Award in recognition of their yeoman services to Indian Cricket. (ANI)

This is published unedited from the ANI feed.