Kolkata, Jun 25 (PTI) Shooting Stars defeated the Rockets 4-3 in a thrilling final to clinch the title in the second edition of the Bengal Snooker League at Saturday Club here today.

Shooting Stars initially trailed 1-3 but they turned it around with Ankit Kraiwala, Gautam Khanwani and the pair of Laxman Rawat-Malkeet Singh winning their respective matches.

Railways player Laxman Rawat defeated Shahbaaz Khan in the 66-32 singles 15 red but they suffered three back-to-back defeats in singles 15 Red, doubles 15 Red and singles 6 Red.

Before the Rockets could clinch the issue, Kariwala, Khanwani and the pair of Laxman and Malkeet won their respective matches to win a prize purse of Rs 5 lakh.

The Rockets received a prize of Rs 3 lakh for finishing runners-up.

Earlier in the play-off format, Shooting Stars, who qualified as number two, upset heavyweights RKG Snooker Champs 4-3 to storm into the final by winning the Qualifier 1.

Sourav Kothari-led Snooker Champs’ hopes for a revival went up in smoke in the Qualifier 2 after being thrashed 0-4 by the Rockets who had earlier shut the door on Pappu Penguin with a 4-2 win.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.