Hyderabad, Jan 18 (PTI) Senior TRS MLA Pocharam Srinivasa Reddy was Friday unanimously elected Speaker of the Telangana Assembly. Also Read - Mandis Not Closing, MSP Not Ending: PM Modi in Loksabha | Highlights

Reddy’s unanimous election was announced by Pro Tem Speaker Mumtaz Ahmad Khan in the House. Also Read - Farmers Could Have Chosen Any Other Day Instead of January 26: Narendra Singh Tomar on Tractor Rally

Reddy’s nomination was the only one to be filed Thursday. Also Read - Farmers Can Ask For What They Want Except Repeal of Farm Laws: Agriculture Minister

His candidature was proposed by Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao, main opposition Congress MLA Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka and others.

After Reddy’s election was announced, he was conducted to the chair by Rao, state Congress president N Uttam Kumar Reddy and others.

Reddy, born in 1949, was elected to the assembly six times. He served as Agriculture minister in the previous TRS government.

The first session of the assembly after the December 7 polls began Thursday.

The Governor would address the joint session of the assembly and the legislative council tomorrow.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.