Kohima, July 19 (IANS) Senior Naga People’s Front (NPF) legislator T.R. Zeliang was sworn in as the 19th Chief Minister of Nagaland on Wednesday, hours after Governor P.B. Acharya dismissed the Shurhozelie Liezietsu government after he failed to prove his majority in the Assembly.Also Read - Nagaland Killings: Army Unit Named In Suo Moto FIR | Key Points

Governor Acharya administered the oath of office and secrecy to 65-year-old Zeliang in a ceremony at the Raj Bhavan here. Also Read - Breaking News Highlights: Govt Introduces Bill to Accord Special Status to 6 More Institutes of Pharmaceutical Education

Zeliang will have to prove his majority on the floor of the House on or before July 22. Also Read - A Case of Mistaken Identity: 13 Civilians Killed In Firing Incident In Nagaland's Mon; CM Appeals For Peace

The newly-inducted Chief Minister will announce the list of his council of ministers after the floor test.

This is published unedited from the IANS feed.