On January 16 (a day before the commencement of the session), Khan would take oath as pro tem Speaker in Raj Bhavan.

Governor ESL Narasimhan will administer the oath to Khan, it said.

The newly-elected MLAs would take oath after the House meets at 11.30 a.m on January 17.

In the afternoon, an official lunch will be hosted for the MLAs on the lawns of Legislative Council Hall in the Jubilee Hall premises, it said.

On the same day, the schedule for the Speaker’s election would be announced and the nomination process commences, it said.

The Speaker’s election and an announcement about it would take place on January 18.

Later, the Assembly proceedings will continue with the newly-elected Speaker in the Chair.

“The Speaker will conduct the BAC meeting after the house is adjourned and will take a decision on the Governors address on the following day,” it said.

On January 19, the Governor will address the joint session of legislature.

The next day (January 20), the House will introduce the motion of thanks to the Governor’s address and adopt the same, the release said.

AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi thanked Rao for making Khan the pro tem Speaker.

“MUMTAZ Ahmad Khan 6 term MLA of Charminar from MIM will be made Pro-tem Speaker of Telangana Assembly, I am thankful to @Telangana CMO KCR saheb,” he tweeted.

AIMIM is a friendly party of the ruling TRS.

The TRS has returned to power in the state with a massive majority, winning 88 of the total 119 seats in the December 7 Assembly polls.

The Congress managed to win 19 seats, while AIMIM won seven.

TDP secured two seats and BJP got one seat.

An independent and an MLA of All India Forward Bloc extended support to TRS.

This is published unedited from the PTI feed.