Live Updates

Shimla, Dec 18: Counting of votes for five constituencies in Una district will take place on Monday for Himachal Pradesh Assembly Elections 2017. The results of Chintpurni, Gagret, Haroli, Kutlehar and Una Vidhan Sabha seats are expected to be out by 5 pm today. Three out of five seats were won by the Congress in 2012 in the Una district. Exit polls this year have projected a clear victory for the Bharatiya Janata Party in Himachal Pradesh. Stay with us for Live updates on counting of votes to find out who wins these five seats in the Una district.

Chintpurni Vidhan Sabha Seat

Chintpurni is a major pilgrimage centre in the hill state of Himachal Pradesh and one of the Shakti Peethas in India. The fight here is between Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), and Indian National Congress (INC). The BJP has fielded Balbir Singh whereas Congress has pinned its hope on Kuldip Kumar like last election. In 2012 Assembly elections, Congress’s Kuldeep Kumar had won the Chintpurni constituency, He had got 23,720 votes, while BJP’s Balbir Singh was the runner up with 23282 votes. Check the complete result of Chintpurni seat here.

Gagret Vidhan Sabha Seat

One of the fastest-developing towns of Himachal Pradesh, Gagret falls under the Hamirpur Parliamentary constituency and is a significant seat in Una district. In 2012, Congress candidate Rakesh Kalia had registered a massive victory, defeating BJP’s Sushil Kumar Kalia. This election, too, the Congress is pinning its hopes on Rakesh Kalia. The BJP and BSP have fielded Rajesh Thakur and Lekh Raj Katnoria respectively. Check the complete result of Gagret seat here.

Haroli Vidhan Sabha Seat

A fairly new Vidhan Sabha seat, Haroli is facing an interesting battle between the Congress and BJP. The BJP has yet again fielded Ram Kumar to take on sitting Congress MLA and State Industry Minister Mukesh Agnihotri from Haroli seat. In the 2012 Assembly election, Congress’s Mukesh Agnihotri had defeated Ram Kumar of the BJP by a margin of over 5,000 votes. Who will emerge winner this year? Check the complete result of Haroli seat here.

Kutlehar Vidhan Sabha Seat

Kutlehar has been a BJP stronghold since 1993. In 2012, BJP’s Virender Kanwar (26028 votes) had defeated Congress candidate Ram Dass (24336) by over 1500 votes. This year, the Congress has fielded Vivek Sharma against now BJP’s three-time MLA Virender Kanwar from Kutlehar seat. Will Congress be able to defeat BJP on this seat after 27 years? Check the complete result of Kutlehar seat here.

Una Vidhan Sabha Seat

Located close to the pilgrimage town of Chintpurni, the Una constituency has also been a BJP seat since 2003. BJP’s Satpal Singh Satti had won all three elections since 2003 on this seat. In 2012 Assembly election, Satpal Singh Satti, who heads the Himachal Pradesh unit of the BJP, had defeated Congress’s Satpal Singh Raizada by over 4500 votes. The contest in 2017 election is yet again between the two Satpals. Check the complete result of Una seat here.

In the 68-member Himachal Pradeh Assembly, the ruling Congress has 35 members while the strength of opposition BJP is 28. There are four independents while one seat is vacant. Elections for 2017 were held on November 9. The counting of votes will take place today along with Gujarat Assembly Elections 2017.