New Delhi, Feb 9: The Election Commission of India (ECI) on Friday announced bypolls schedule for Uttar Pradesh and Bihar. The polling for Lok Sabha polls in Gorakhpur and Phulpur in UP and Araria in Bihar will be held on March 11. Along with these three seats, Bihar’s Jehanabad and Bhabua constituencies will go to Assembly bypoll on the same day. Also Read - Country's First Regional Voters' Awareness Centre to Come up in Jaipur: EC

The counting of votes will be conducted on March 14. Results will be announced on the same day. Also Read - Former Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar to Take Over as Election Commissioner on Ashok Lavasa's Exit

Both the parliamentary constituencies of Gorakhpur and Phulpur fell vacant following the election of the sitting MPs Yogi Adityanath (UP chief minister) and Keshav Prasad Maurya (UP’s deputy chief minister) respectively as members of UP’s Legislative Council.

The bypolls for the two Lok Sabha seats will also be a test for the Congress and the Samajwadi Party.

The last date of filing nominations for all five bypolls is February 20, 2018 and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is February 23. The Election Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in all polling stations.

The EC said that model code of conduct will come into effect in the concerned districts with immediate effect.