New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday paid tribute to the brave hearts of the 2001 Parliament House attack which marked its 17th Anniversary today. The Prime Minister said in a tweet, “We salute the valour of those who were martyred during the dastardly attack on our Parliament on this day in 2001. Their courage and heroism inspires every Indian (sic).”Also Read - Tokyo Paralympics 2020: PM Modi Congratulates TT Star Bhavina Patel, Tweets 'Your Accomplishments Inspired The Entire Nation'

President of India, Ram Nath Kovind also honoured the soldiers who were martyred on that unfortunate day. “India gratefully remembers those martyred while defending Parliament from terrorists on this day in 2001. Forces of hate and terror targeted what we cherish most — India’s democracy and democratic values. They did not succeed. And we will never let them succeed,” President of India tweeted. Also Read - PM Narendra Modi Shares Ice-Cream With PV Sindhu, Treats Gold Medallist Neeraj Chopra With Churma | SEE PICS

Also Read - 'Huge Crowds in Hill Stations Without Wearing Masks a Matter of Concern,' Says PM Modi

On December 13, 2001, five gunmen stormed the Parliament complex and opened indiscriminate fire. Five Delhi Police personnel, a woman Central Reserve Police official, two Parliament watch and ward staff, a gardener and a camera person were among those who killed in the attack.

The incident took place around 40 minutes after Parliament was adjourned and about 100 members were present in the building. Extensive investigations revealed the involvement of four accused namely Afzal Guru, Shaukat Hussain, SAR Geelani and Navjot Sandhu.