New Delhi: At least 10 people including National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) chief Ranjan Daimary were awarded life imprisonment by a CBI Special Court in the 2008 Assam bombings case on Wednesday. A total of 14 persons were convicted in the case on January 28. The four remaining persons have served their sentence and paid fine.

11 serial blasts rocked at least four districts of Assam on October 30, 2008, which killed 87 people. The Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) took over the case in the same year. The prime accused, NDFB chief Daimary was arrested in Bangladesh and handed over to India in 2010. He was released on bail in 2013.

The others who have been convicted are George Bodo, B Tharai, Raju Sarkar, Anchai Bodo, Indra Brahma, Loko Basumatary, Khargeswar Basumatary, Prabhat Bodo, Jayanta Bodo, Ajay Basumatary, Mathuram Brahma and Rajen Goyary. The prosecution appealed for the death sentence for all.

The NDFB, an insurgent group seeking separate Bodoland, is split into two major factions  — Daimary faction and NDFB-Progressive. The two have agreed to peace talks with the government. Another faction led by B Saoraigwra — NDFB-S — is still active and underground.