New Delhi: Alert after losing Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan to the Congress in the recently-concluded assembly polls, the BJP on Wednesday appointed the party’s in-charges for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections for 17 states.

Keeping in mind the political importance of Uttar Pradesh, which sends 80 lawmakers to the Lok Sabha and where the party is expected to face a tough fight from the proposed alliance between the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP), BJP chief Amit Shah has appointed three in-charges for the state — Govardhan Jhadapiya, Dushyant Gautam and Narottam Mishra.

In the Hindi heartland states of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan which the BJP lost at the hands of an upbeat Congress, the party has appointed to make ensure a comeback following the dismal performance in the recently-concluded assembly elections and the by-polls held earlier this year.

While Union minister Prakash Javadekar and senior leader Sudhanshu Trivedi will supervise the BJP’s poll preparations in Rajasthan, Sawantra Dev Singh and Satish Upadhyay have been appointed as in-charges for Madhya Pradesh.

BJP general secretary Bhupender Yadav has been appointed the in-charge for Bihar, where the party is facing dissent from its allies over seat sharing and saw the exit of Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP which later joined hands with the opposition.

Rajya Sabha member V Muraleedharan and party secretary Deodhar Rao will be in-charge of Andhra Pradesh. Mahendra Singh and O P Mathur will be in-charge of Assam and Gujarat respectively.

The BJP has also appointed in-charges and co-incharges for several other states, including Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland, Punjab, Telangana and Sikkim among others.