New Delhi: In no mood to leave any stone unturned for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, the BJP on Sunday appointed senior leaders Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley as the head of 20-member ‘sankalp patra’ (manifesto) committee and publicity wing respectively as party chief Amit Shah formed 17 groups in preparation for the polls.

Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Piyush Goyal and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shiraj Singh Chouhan are the other members of the committee tasked with preparing the party’s manifesto, a statement said. Jaitley will also be a member of this committee.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari will head a committee which will reach out to social and volunteer organisations while his Cabinet colleague Sushma Swaraj will head a group that will produce literature for the polls, it added.

Prasad will head the party’s media group while Union minister Prakash Javadekar will lead the wing which will organise meetings of intellectuals.

On Saturday, the BJP appointed Union ministers JP Nadda and Piyush Goyal as Lok Sabha election 2019 in-charge for Uttar Pradesh and Tamil Nadu respectively.

Union minister Nirmala Sitharaman will be in-charge for Delhi, former minister Kalraj Mishra for Haryana. Avinash Rai Khanna has been roped in for Tripura, and Jammu and Kashmir but the party may appoint a more senior leaders as in-charge for these states.

Goyal has been given the responsibility for Puducherry, and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands. BJP general secretary Muralidhar Rao will be the Lok Sabha election in-charge for Karnataka, the statement said.

Last month, the party had appointed in-charges for 17 states.

Keeping in mind the political importance of Uttar Pradesh, which sends 80 lawmakers to the Lok Sabha and where the party is expected to face a tough fight from the proposed alliance between the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Samajwadi Party (SP), BJP chief Amit Shah has appointed three in-charges for the state — Govardhan Jhadapiya, Dushyant Gautam and Narottam Mishra.

In the Hindi heartland states of Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan which the BJP lost at the hands of an upbeat Congress, the party has appointed to make ensure a comeback following the dismal performance in the recently-concluded assembly elections and the by-polls held earlier this year.