As per Honorable Minister Sadhvi Jyoti, the people should vote for Ramzade (Children of Ram) and not Haramzade (Bastards). Ramzade is the BJP and Haramzade are all the other parties. In elections 2014 – there were 834 million potential voters in India. Out of this 553 million voters voted in elections and rest of the people did not vote.

Out of 553 million people who voted, 31% – around 171 million people voted for BJP. And another 381 million people voted for other parties. Therefore 69% people did not vote for BJP out of total voting population. Out of total 834 million potential voters this percentage is 79.5% – so out of total voters – the people who did not vote for BJP is 79.5%.

Now as per the definition given by the Honorable Minister, the people who do not vote for BJP, voted for Haramzadas. The minimum number of people who voted for Haramzadas (as per the definition) in India as per 2014 election results are 381 million people – who voted for other parties. And the total number could be 662 million who did not vote for BJP – which is 79.5 % of voting population. An assessment about non-voting population which is currently under age can only be made once they are old enough to vote.

Here is the data on numbers of votes and vote percentage of top 25 parties in India for 204 elections:

PARTY NAMEVotes by PartyVotes %
1Bharatiya Janata Party17165754931
2Indian National Congress10693824219.31
3Bahujan Samaj Party229461824.14
4All India Trinamool Congress212596813.84
5Samajwadi Party186729163.37
6All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam181158253.27
7Communist Party of India  (Marxist)179867733.25
9Telugu Desam140945452.55
10Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party139912802.53
11Aam Aadmi Party113256352.05
13Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam96364301.74
14Biju Janata Dal94914971.71
15Nationalist Congress Party86355541.56
16Rashtriya Janata Dal74423131.34
17Telangana Rashtra Samithi67364901.22
18Janata Dal  (United)59921961.08
19Communist Party of India43272980.78
20Janata Dal  (Secular)37314810.67
21Shiromani Akali Dal36361480.66
22Indian National Lok Dal27998990.51
23All India United Democratic Front23330400.42
24Lok Jan Shakti Party22959290.41
25Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam20793920.38

Disclaimer: Rajiv Vij is an independent blogger. The views expressed here are personal and should not be construed as those of