New Delhi: Seven veteran officers on Saturday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the presence of Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman at the party headquarters, stated news agency ANI. The officers who joined BJP party are Lt General JBS Yadav, Lt General R N Singh, Lt General SK Patyal, Lt General Sunit Kumar, Lt General Nitin Kohli, Colonel RK Tripathi and Wing Commander Navneet Magon.

Addressing the occasion, Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman welcomed the officers into the party fold and acknowledged their ‘great contributions’ to the Indian armed forces.

Meanwhile, on April 25, Nirmala Sitharaman was part of an interactive session with the Mumbai residents. She discussed the issues of the people before the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. She tweeted on Thursday, “With residents of Bandra and its neighbourhood in Mumbai. An invigorating interactive session on issues before the Lok Sabha Elections 2019. Thanks, Mumbai- @BJP4India’s place of birth. With me @ShelarAshish Thanks @poonam_mahajan, amidst your hectic campaign, for being there.”

The first of the seven-phased Lok Sabha Elections 2019 began on April 11, the second phase on April 18 and the third phase on April 23. The fourth phase will take place on April 29, fifth phase on May 6, sixth phase on May 12 and the seventh phase on May 19.

(With agency inputs)