New Delhi, August 5: After losing the vice presidential poll on Saturday evening, Congress leader thanked all those who voted against the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and said that the Opposition will never compromise on ideology whether they face defeat or victory. Also Read - Maharashtra MLC Election Results 2020: BJP Suffers Setback, Wins Only 1/6 Seats; Ruling MVA Coalition Wins 4

Former Union Minister M Venkaiah Naidu has been today elected as the 13th Vice-President of India by defeating UPA candidate Gopal Krishna Gandhi. Venkaiah Naidu won the vice presidential election with a decisive margin by bagging 544 votes against his rival Gopal Krishna Gandhi, who received 244 votes. The Returning Officer declared 11 votes invalid. Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Seems To Lack Consistency, Says NCP Chief Sharad Pawar

Venkaiah Naidu will succeed vice president Hamid Ansari who will demit the office on August 10. Apart from being the deputy to President Ram Nath Kovind, Venkaiah Naidu will also be lead as a Chairman of Rajya Sabha. Also Read – Venkaiah Naidu Elected 13th Vice President, Wins Poll With Decisive Margin Also Read - Karnataka Minister Makes Shocking Remark, Says Farmers Who Die by Suicide Are Cowards

Moments after the results were declared, Prime Minister Narendra Modi greeted Venkaiah Naidu. “Congratulations to Venkaiah Naidu Garu on being elected India’s Vice President. My best wishes for a fruitful & motivating tenure” tweeted PM Modi.

“Congratulate Venkaiah Naidu on his victory, wish him all the best for his new office. Thank those who voted for me; was expecting a handsome performance by united vote of opposition parties and I am more than satisfied,” said GK Gandhi while addressing the media.

Several political pundits had concluded that the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee Venkaiah Naidu will be elected as the vice president. The BJP is the single largest party in both the Houses of Parliament. The party and its allies together were enough to see him through. In the Presidential election, only Parliamentarians vote in this election.