New Delhi, May 31: Former Chief Ministers of Uttar Pradesh Mulayam Singh Yadav and Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday vacated their official residences in Lucknow in compliance with the orders of the Supreme Court, a news agency ANI reported. The bungalow was allotted to them in the capacity of former chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh. Also Read - BJP's Troubleshooter, NE's Most Influential Politician Himanta Biswa Sarma to Take Oath as Assam CM Today

On late Wednesday night, former chief minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati also vacated the official bungalow. The development came after the Uttar Pradesh government had issued notices to six former state CMs to vacate official bungalows. The notices sent by the Estate Department had asked the former chief ministers to vacate the bungalows in 15 days. Those served notices included Narayan Dutt Tiwari, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Kalyan Singh, Mayawati, Rajnath Singh and Akhilesh Yadav. Also Read - Will Himanta Sarma Outplay Sonowal to Become Assam CM? Crucial Decision Today

According to reports, Akhilesh has sought permission for staying in the allotted premises for another two years. Akhilesh has said he does not have any other suitable residential premises at Lucknow to stay in with his kind of security cover. Later, Akhilesh and his father former CM Mulayam Singh Yadav had also moved a petition in the Supreme Court, asking for “appropriate time” to vacate official residences allotted to them by the state government.

Meanwhile, former UP chief minister Rajnath Singh, currently the Union Home Minister, was the first one move to shift to his private house in the Gomti Nagar area.

The Supreme Court had ordered that former Chief Ministers are not entitled to government accommodation for the lifetime. The bench had said that any such government accommodation should be vacated within two to three months. The judgment came on a plea filed by a UP-based NGO Lok Prahari, which had sought a direction against allotment of government bungalows to ex-CMs and other “non-eligible” organisations.

It is to be noted that Mulayam Singh Yadav had served as chief minister from three times from 1989 to 1991, 1993 to 1995, and 2003 to 2007 respectively. He was also minister of defence from 1996 to 1998 in the united front government. While Akhilesh Yadav served as the Chief Minister from 2012 to 2017. He was the youngest person to have held the office.