New Delhi, April 15: Almost a week before MCD Elections, the Delhi BJP on Saturday expelled its 21 workers, including five sitting councillors, from the party for six years for allegedly carrying out anti-party activities. The polling for Delhi Municipal Corporations will be held on April 23 and the results for the same will be announced on April 26. Also Read - Maharashtra MLC Election Results 2020: BJP Suffers Setback, Wins Only 1/6 Seats; Ruling MVA Coalition Wins 4

Four outgoing councillors Dr Pankaj Singh from Ranhola, Krishna Gehlot from Navada, Praveen Rajput from Sagarpur West, Sandhya Verma (Patparganj), and Nikki Singh from New Ashok Nagar were expelled for contesting the civic elections against the party’s official candidates, the party said in a statement. Also Read - Rahul Gandhi Seems To Lack Consistency, Says NCP Chief Sharad Pawar

Also, party leader and former Delhi University Students’ Union president Manoj Chaudhary has been expelled for the anti-party activities, Delhi BJP media incharge Praveen Shankar Kapoor said in the statement, adding that all the 21 were expelled for six years from the party. Also Read - Karnataka Minister Makes Shocking Remark, Says Farmers Who Die by Suicide Are Cowards

The BJP, in this year’s polls to the three civic bodies, has decided not to give tickets to all its sitting councillors in the three corporations.

Most of the around 140 councillors have abide by the party decision, but a section has been involved in the anti- party activities, said a party leader.

About nine councillors had filed nominations against the party’s official candidates. A couple of sitting councillors have switched over to Congress against the party decision.

Voting for 272 wards of three municipal corporations will be held on April 23 and counting of votes will take place on April 26. However, some Congress workers and a candidate of AAP in MCD bypolls last year, Sunita Tokas, today joined the BJP.