New Delhi: Expressing hope that the delimitation work in Assam would ensure the political rights of the indigenous communities of Assam, Assam home minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said Assam should be governed by indigenous people. “We want to see that we don’t lose any seats when the delimitation report is published,” Himanta said two days after the Centre issued an order clearing the delimitations of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland. Now, the delimitation of the constituencies in Assam will begin.Also Read - Assam NRC List 'Missing': Data Safe, Assures MHA; Attributes 'Disappearance' to Technical Issue

In an order, the Ministry of Law and Justice said, “Whereas under the provisions of Article 82 and Clause (3) of Article 170 of the Constitution, as amended by the Constitution (Eight-fourth Amendment) Act, 2001, Parliament has enacted the Delimitation Act, 2002 and a Delimitation Commission was set up to readjust the division of each State and Union territory into territorial constituencies for the purpose of elections to the House of the People and to the state legislative assemblies…. Delimitation Commission completed the delimitation exercise and the Delimitation Order, 2008 in respect of all states, except Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland…” Also Read - Modi in Assam: 'Entire India Celebrating With You', PM Lauds Bodo Accord at Kokrajhar

As per the notification, each state shall be re-delimited into territorial parliamentary and assembly constituencies on the basis of 2001 census and the extent of such constituencies as delimited now shall remain frozen till the first census to be taken after the year 2026.

According to experts, the exercise would allay fears of NRC and CAA in Assam as it’s the only state where NRC has already been published. The final National Register of Citizens, which was published in August, excluded 19,06,657 persons. A total of 3,11,21,004 names were included in the NRC out of 3,30,27,661 applicants.

Assam will go to the assembly polls in 2021. At present, Assam has 126 Assembly constituencies.