New Delhi, May 31: Congress candidate Miani D Shira has won the Ampati Vidhan Sabha seat in Meghalaya. When the early trends started coming in, NPP candidate Clement G Momin had taken lead in the seat. However, it is the Congress candidate that past through and took over the NPP candidate in the Ampati Election Result 2018. Also Read - 'Coolest CM': Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma Rocks the Internet With His Rendition Of Iron Maiden's 'Wasted Years' | Watch

The counting of votes in Ampati Election Result 2018 in Meghalaya began at 8 AM. The main contenders in the Ampati election were the Congress, National People’s Party (NPP) and an independent candidate. While there was Congress’ Miani D Shira, and NPP’s Clement G Momin, independent candidate Subhankar Koc was also in fray. Also Read - Liquor to Get Expensive in These Three States From Midnight Tonight

There are a total of 24,181 voters from the Ampati constituency. In 2013, former chief minister Mukul Sangma won Meghalaya bypolls. Recently, Sangma also won Ampati and Songsak Assembly seats held on February 27, 2018. However, he later vacated Ampati. As a result, the election to Ampati (ST) seat was necessitated. Also Read - With Meghalaya to Soon Become COVID-19-free, Here's How Northeast is Taking Lead in Fighting Coronavirus

Earlier, it was predicted that the lone independent candidate might bag some votes putting Congress and NPP candidate far behind. The early trends, however, showed NPP candidate taking an early lead.