Live Updates

Meghalaya, May 31: The counting of votes of Ampati (ST) constituency of Meghalaya is underway for which the constituency went to bypolls on May 28. The bypolls in Ampati (ST) is a triangular contest between the Congress, National People’s Party (NPP) and an independent candidate and will decide the fate of all three main contenders- the Congress’ Miani D Shira, NPP’s Clement G Momin and an independent candidate, Subhankar Koc. The Bharatiya Janata Party has fielded Bakul Ch. Hajong for the Ampati (ST) constituency, but the chances of BJP winning the polls in Ampati (ST) are bleak. All said, it remains to be seen which candidate manages to emerge victorious in the polls. Also Read - Sonia Gandhi Laments Plight of Migrants Amid Lockdown, Accuses Centre of Turning Deaf Ears to Their Pain

There are a total of 24,181 voters from the Ampati constituency. In 2013, former chief minister Mukul Sangma won Meghalaya bypolls. Recently, Sangma also won Ampati and Songsak Assembly seats held on February 27, 2018. However, he later vacated Ampati. As a result, the election to Ampati (ST) seat was necessitated. Also Read - 'Will Defeat Coronavirus Under CM Thackeray's Leadership': Maharashtra Minister Raut Slams Centre, BJP | Watch

Congress has had a stronghold in the Ampati (ST) assembly constituency under former Chief Minister, Mukul Sangma. He won Ampati (ST) seat for the sixth time in a row. After he vacated the Ampati (ST) seat for Songsak, he fielded his daughter, Miani D Shira for the Ampati (ST) seat. People had not supported this move of contesting his daughter, as they felt that Miani D Shira should have chosen experienced candidates for the seat. Also Read - '60 Flip-Flops in 60 Days': Congress Leader Sanjay Nirupam Targets Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray

The NPP is confident that their party will win the elections as its candidate, Marcuise Marak defeated the then sitting MLA Deborah C Marak by a good margin. They are expecting the same to happen with Ampati (ST) bypoll elections as well.

This is being predicted that the lone independent candidate might bag some votes. However, the votes might not be enough to secure him the seat. It is difficult to answer who would win the Ampati (ST) bypolls.